Opening Ceremony

2017 ISSF World Cup Series kicks-off from New Delhi, India

ISSF World Cup Rifle / Pistol / Shotgun · New Delhi, IND

Over 450 athletes from 50 nations will compete in Rifle, Pistol and Shotgun events in New Delhi, from the 23rd of February right to the 4th of March. It’s the first ISSF World Cup Stage of the season.

The first leg of the 2017 ISSF World Cup Series kicked-off in New Delhi, India, today. There, 452 athletes from 50 nations will compete in the 15 Olympic events in the disciplines of Rifle, Pistol and Shotgun shooting, from the 23rd of February through the 4th of March.

The competition was officially opened today by the Indian Minister of State for Youth Affairs and Sports Vijay Goel and by the ISSF President Olegario Vazquez Raña, at the presence of the ISSF Secretary General Franz Schreiber and of the Chairman of the Organizing Committee - the NRAI President and ISSF Executive Committee Member Shri Raninder Singh.

“It’s a great pleasure welcoming you here,” said Mr. Goel during the opening ceremony held at the Dr. Karni Singh Shooting Range. “This is the first ISSF Wolrd Cup after the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, and I would like to thank the ISSF authorities for selecting India to host such an important competition.”

“I am also glad to share with you the fact that India will also host this year’s ISSF World Cup, and that our country has been selected to host another World Cup stage in 2019. - continued Mr. Goel - Our Ministry supports the development of Shooting Sport in the country, and the participation in shooting disciplines at every level.”

“I am very happy to be here in this beautiful city again,” said Mr. Olegario Vazquez Raña. “The Shooting Sport has a long tradition in India. For the next week, New Delhi will be the center of attention for the world of shooting. I would like to thank the Organizing Committee for their hard work and excellent preparation, and the people of New Delhi for their hospitality and friendship. I wish all athletes good luck!”

The first medals will be awarded tomorrow: the 10m Air Rifle Women Final will take place at 11.00 (UT + 5:30), followed by the 10m Air Rifle Men Final at 13:00 and by the  Trap Women Final at 15:30.

Find the full competition schedule here:

Follow the competition live on 

Marco Dalla Dea