Vladimir Lisin is the new ISSF President

68th ISSF General Assembly · Munich, GER

The ISSF General Assembly elected him as the 7th President of the Federation, following the 38-year long presidency of Olegario Vázquez Raña.

Vladimir Lisin (RUS) is the new ISSF President. He beat Italy’s Luciano Rossi in the succession to the 38-year long presidency of Olegario Vázquez Raña (MEX). 


In the ISSF General Assembly held today at the Munich Park Hotel in Munich, Germany, 136 member federations were present, in addition to 23 proxies, for a total of 159 represented federations and 292 votes, out of the maximum possible representation of 160 member, 147 countries, and 294 votes. 


Delegates awarded 148 votes to Mr. Lisin, and 144 votes to Mr. Luciano Rossi. A third candidate, the President of the Lebanon Shooting Federation Jalkh Boutros (LBN), withdrew his candidature yesterday, 29 November.


Mr. Vladimir Lisin (62) is a Russian entrepreneur holding Ph.Ds in Engineering and Economics, and the Chairman of one of the world’s leading steelmaking companies, NLMK Group. He practices shooting sport since the age of 14, and has been involved in the management of the sport since years. In 2002, Mr. Lisin became President of the Russian Shooting Union, and since 2009 he has been leading the European Shooting Confederation (ESC). From 2009 to 2013 he served as a member of the ISSF Administrative Council, and since 2011 he is the President of the Summer Olympic Sports Association of Russia. In 2013 he became a member of the ISSF Executive Committee, winning then the votes of the delegates at the 2014 ISSF General Assembly to become ISSF Vice-President. At the same time, he has been serving the IOC as a member of the IOC Commission for Culture and Olympic Education (2006-2014) and in the IOC Marketing Commission (2015- onward).  


Today, Mr. Lisin becomes the 7th President of the International Shooting Sport Federation, one of the oldest international federation, founded in 1907 as the UIT (Union Internationale de Tir). He succeeds Olegario Vázquez Raña, a Mexican entrepreneur and titled athlete who led the ISSF for 38 years. Vazquez Raña stepped back this morning, following a decision he had made public in 2014. He was nominated ISSF Honorary President, right after his farewell speech addressed to the Shooting sport family, today. 


In his speech, before the vote, Mr. Lisin said: 


“I don’t want to make empty electoral promises. There’s a lot of work to do for all of us. We should respect the interest of all federations and all continents.” 


“We will support member federation who really intend to develop Shooting sport in their countries. My recent trips to America and Africa showed there’s a lot to do. Our goal is not to increase the number of federations, but also to increase the competition level of those federations that already part of our family.”


Right after the result of the elections was announced, he added: “Thank you for your trust!”


The ISSF General Assembly must indeed continue, as the delegates are now called to elected the ISSF Secretary General, four ISSF Vice-Presidents, the new ISSF Administrative Committee, the Chairmen of the Sections Committees (Rifle, Pistol, Shotgun, Running Target, Judges, Statutes and Eligibility, Medical), the Auditors, and the ISSF Honorary Members.


On the agenda of the delegates there are also the approval of the ISSF’s financial statements, a proposal for amendments to the ISSF Constitution, and - on day-2, 1st of December - the decision on the country to organize the 2019 ISSF Shotgun World Championship, and several other regulatory and administrative decisions. 

Marco Dalla Dea


Official Partners