Japan’s Matsuda awarded the 2017 Shooter of the Year trophy

It’s the second time that the Japanese pistol ace shooter wins the trophy.

The ISSF Vice-President Gary Anderson awarded the 2017 ISSF Shooter of the Year trophy to Japan’s pistol champion Tomoyuki Matsuda, today. 


The award had already been announced on the 26th of January 2018, but the trophy ceremony was set to be held during the 2018 ISSF World Cup in Changwon, Republic of Korea, today. 


Last year, 42-year old Tomoyuki Matsuda climbed atop of the podium at the ISSF World Cup stage in New Delhi, and collected two world cup silver medals in Munich, Germany, and Gabala, Azerbaijan. 

At the end of the season, again in New Delhi, Matsuda claimed his first ISSF World Cup Final title, setting a new World Record of 241.8 points. 


It’s the second time that the Japanese shooter wins the trophy, which he had already claimed in 2010. 


The “Shooter of the Year” recognition is awarded every year to the two athletes - a man and a female shooters - who best represented the values of the shooting sport in the past season, through unique performances, behavior and character. 


The winners are selected by a panel including members of the ISSF Athletes Committee, of the ISSF Coaches Advisory Committee and by delegates of the international press. 


USA’s skeet shooter Kimberly Rhode won the 2017 female Shooter of the Year trophy, that will be awarded to her here in Changwon later this week. 


The 2017 ISSF Shooter of the Year - male shooters ranking: 


  1. Matsuda Tomoyuki (JPN)
  2. Istvan Peni (HUN)
  3. Pavlo Korostylov (UKR)
  4. Antonio Bailon (ESP)
  5. Gabriele Rossetti (ITA)
  6. Jitu Rai (IND)
  7. Alberto Fernandez (ESP)
  8. Sergey Kamenskiy (RUS)
  9. Oleh Omelchuk (UKR)
  10. Torben Grimmel (DEN)

Marco Dalla Dea