Abhinav Bindra appointed in IOC Athletes’ Commission

He joins Danka Bartekova, Vladimir Lisin, Joerg Brokamp and Alexander Ratner, the ISSF family members nominated in various IOC Commissions for 2018.

The International Olympic Committee announced the composition of the IOC Commissions for 2018. 


Beijing 2008 Olympic Champion Abhinav Bindra (IND) has been nominated as a member of the Athletes’ Commission. The rifle shooter joins Skeet Olympic Bronze medalist Danka Bartekova (SVK), who is currently the Vice-Chair of the Commission. 


The IOC Athletes' Commission serves as a link between the athletes and the IOC. Key responsibilities include: ensuring and empowering athletes representation in Olympic movement decision-making processes; supporting athletes development in their sporting and non-sporting careers and promoting athletes involvement in decision-making across the Olympic movement. 


ISSF Vice-President Vladimir Lisin (RUS) was nominated as a member of the Marketing Commission. ISSF Technical Committee Chairman Joerg Brokamp (GER) and ISSF Administrative Council Member Alexander Ratner (RUS) were announced as members of the Sport and Active Society Commission. 


The IOC Commissions, in addition to providing assistance to the IOC and to the Organizing Committees for the Olympic Games, engage in a range of activities throughout the year, contributing to building a better world through sport. Their work supports the Olympic Movement and helps progress in topics such as the development of “Sport for All”; cooperation with public and private organizations to place sport at the service of humankind; the fight against doping; the promotion of sports ethics and fair play; awareness of environmental problems; financial and educational support for developing countries; and many other areas.

Marco Dalla Dea