World Cups

Frequency: every year
Structure: 4 World Cup stages for Rifle and Pistol events, 4 World Cup stages for Shotgun events
Last: ISSF World Cup Series 2015
Next: ISSF World Cup Series 2016
Shooting Events: 15 Olympic shooting events (5 Rifle, 5 Pistol, 5 Shotgun)

Medal Winners at the World Cups

Find out all the World Cups Medal Winners

The ISSF World Cup Series

The ISSF World Cup Series is articulated in 4 different World Cup stages in Rifle and Pistol events and 4 different stages in Shotgun events.
The ISSF World Cup Series, together with the ISSF World Championships and the Continental Championships, can award Olympic Quota Places, and it is therefore considered an Olympic qualification competition.
The World Cup stages are organized by national member federations by appointment of the International Shooting Sport Federation every year, and usually take place in different countries between March and July. Combined World Cup stages, where Shotgun, Rifle and Pistol competitions are shoot, can be organized.

The ISSF World Cups history

During the 1970s and early 1980s, national federations in several countries organized major competitions according to ISSF rules that attracted large international participation.

These competitions included the “Benito Juarez” Matches in Mexico City as well as important “international match weeks” organized in cities like Bucharest, Rumania; Havana, Cuba; Munich, West Germany; Suhl, German Democratic Republic and Zurich, Switzerland.  ISSF member federations and their members enthusiastically supported these matches because their shooters wanted more international competitions.  
In 1986, those major international matches provided the foundation for a new ISSF initiative to create an Olympic Games qualification system that would be acceptable to the IOC.

Those international matches were the inspiration for a major expansion of the ISSF’s program of championships.  They were the predecessors of the ISSF World Cups that became part of the Olympic qualifying system.
To increase the number of opportunities that shooters had to compete for and earn Olympic Quotas for their countries, the ISSF established a new series of World Cups and included them in the Olympic qualifying system. The ISSF further strengthened the new World Cup system by deciding, at the 1986 General Assembly, to recognize scores fired in World Cups as World Records.

The large international competitions that were then being organized were designated as the first ISSF World Cups.  The inaugural ISSF World Cup took place in Havana, Cuba in March 1987 when the traditional “Anniversario del INDER” international matches, organized by the National Institute for Sports, Physical Education and Recreation in Cuba - were designated as a World Cup.  The 16th “Benito Juarez” Matches that followed in Mexico City were designated as the second ISSF World Cup.

Today, four Rifle and Pistol World Cups and four Shotgun World Cups are designated by the ISSF Executive Committee every year.