President Olegario Vazquez Raña re-elected by the ISSF General Assembly in Munich

34 years after his first election, the ISSF General Assembly entrusted Mr. Olegario Vazquez Raña (MEX) for the ninth consecutive time. Mr. Franz Schreiber (GER) was elected in the position of ISSF Secretary General.

The ISSF General Assembly re-elected President Olegario Vazquez Raña (MEX) for another four-year term, this morning. Mr. Vazquez Raña received 165 votes, beating the sole other candidate Sheik Salman Al Sabah (KUW), who collected 128 votes.


Olegario Vazquez Raña – a four-time Olympian and a rifle shooting record-setter – enters his ninth consecutive Presidential term since his first election in 1980.


“Thank you for your loyalty and for your trust.” Mr. Olegario Vazquez Raña said to the Delegates right after his re-election. “You have given me the opportunity to reaffirm my commitment to all sport shooters of the world and to this sport family that I love.”


“You can be certain that for the upcoming four years, changes and developments will continue. We will keep on working on our agenda, to make us stronger, to reach more athletes all around the world, so that our beloved sport will become more attractive to people and more solid in the Olympic movement. I am convinced that with your support the next four years will be really productive, because if we are united the future of our sport will be bright.”


Mr. Franz Schreiber (GER) was elected as the new ISSF Secretary General by unanimous decision of the General Assembly.


“Thank you very much for your support. I am a little speechless. I will do my best to continue working in the way I did, and I will do my best in favor of the shooting sport family.” Mr. Schreiber said.


The 2014 ISSF General Assembly is being held at the Hilton Park Hotel in Munich, Germany, where Delegates coming from 122 Countries, representing 128 Member Federations, for a total of 293 votes, met on the 2nd and 3rd of December to elect all ISSF governing bodies.


Yesterday (2nd of December), the ISSF General Assembly awarded the 2017 ISSF Shotgun World Championship to Moscow (RUS), that beat Gaj-Maribor (SLO) by 204 to 75 votes. The World Championship is to be held at the Fox Lodge shooting range, a top-class ISSF accredited training centre venue.


During the meetings, the ISSF General Assembly received the reports of the ISSF President Olegario Vazquez Raña and of the ISSF Secretary General Franz Schreiber, and unanimously approved the report of the ISSF Auditors. The organizing committees of the 2015 Shotgun World Championship in Lonato (ITA), of the 2016 Rio Olympic Games and of the 2018 ISSF World Championship in all events in Changwon (KOR) reported on the progresses of their preparations.


The ISSF President Olegario Vazquez Raña awarded the ISSF Blue Cross – the highest recognition of our Federation – to two special guests: the IOC Member Vitaly Smirnov of the Russian Federation, and the President of the Spanish Olympic Committee Alejandro Blanco.


The 2014 ISSF General Assembly is currently undergoing, as Delegates are called to elect the four ISSF Vice-Presidents and all the governing bodies of the Federation.

Marco Dalla Dea